CKS Executive Committee Election Results

Posted by: Beadle on Sunday, December 2nd, 2007

In balloting conducted by mail, Seungsook Moon of Vassar College and Janet Poole of the University of Toronto have been chosen to serve three-year terms on the Executive Committee of the Committee on Korean Studies. They succeed Hyaeweol Choi of Arizona State University and Nam-hee Lee of UCLA, whose terms expired this year.

The CKS Executive Committee consists of seven members elected by the CKS membership to serve staggered three-year terms. In addition to the newly elected Moon and Poole, the Executive Committee consists of David Kang, Chan Park (chair), Sun Joo Kim, Jun Yoo, and Theodore Hughes.

The membership of the Committee on Korean Studies is defined as those members of the Association for Asian Studies who identify Korea as their primary or secondary country of interest. Currently, the Committee has approximately one thousand members. Ballots were mailed to members on record as of August 2007 and were tabulated by the Executive Committee chairwoman.

The Executive Committee has scheduled two meetings during the AAS annual meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Atlanta, April 3-6, 2008. The Executive Committee will meet on Wednesday, April 2, 2008, from 2 to 6 p.m., in the Hyatt Regency Vinings Room. A CKS general meeting will take place on Friday, April 4, 2008, from 9 to 11 p.m., in the Kennesaw Room.

This entry was posted in 2007. Bookmark the permalink.